Wow…that is amazing…

Anne recently shared a blog post titled ‘Are we filers?’ and in particular this clip – “Teaching in the 21st Century”.

This clip is FANTASTIC Anne. Thanks for sharing. Like you I really like the point regarding “Should be focus on fact and content or skills?”. I have noticed that a few subjects areas at my school have recently shifted their focus from being content, content, content to skills, skills, skills…while there are still others that value content, content, content.

While this clip is a little long (9:45)…it will be great to show staff in order to reiterate the ‘why’ of technology and continue to plant the seed of transformation, change and reflection. I will definitely be using this clip – Thanks Anne for sharing.

I have been dealing with the same issues as Anne noted – “Throughout much of this course, I have found myself grabbling with, on the one hand, how to provide my students with the freedom and opportunity to construct their own knowledge, and then on the other hand, ensuring they are equipped with the skills needed to be effective in this process.

In Queensland schools are dealing with the pressures of NAPLAN, QCS (starts tomorrow) and MySchools website…while also preparing students with the necessary skills for the 21st Century. Sometimes it is a ‘double edged sword’.

This video and this post has been one of those “Obvious to you…Amazing to others”. Thanks Anne.

Talk soon

Brendon

Leave a comment